2007 Herman Skolnik Award Winner Announced


Robert S. Pearlman, the Coulter R. Sublett Regents Chair in Pharmacy and Director of the Laboratory for the Development of Computer-Assisted Drug Discovery Software at the University of Texas at Austin, is named to receive the 2007 Herman Skolnik Award. This award is given by the Chemical Information Division of the American Chemical Society in recognition of outstanding contributions to and achievements in the theory and practice of chemical information science. The award ceremony will be held at the American Chemical Society National Meeting at Boston in September of 2007.

Dr. Pearlman is best known for developing CONCORD, a tool for conversion of 2D connection tables into 3D structures. Availability of CONCORD triggered the development of several 3D searching and pharmacophore perception technologies that revolutionized computer-aided molecular design capabilities in the pharmaceutical and agrochemical industries. Dr. Pearlman was the 2006 recipient of the Society for Biomolecular Sciences Accomplishment Award for his work on the DiverseSolutions package which introduced novel concepts and descriptors related to clustering and diversity in chemistry-space. His BCUT-descriptors are widely used to help focus lead discovery efforts and guide the growth of corporate screening collections.

When asked for comment regarding the Award, Dr. Pearlman said, "Obviously, I feel both honored and delighted to be recognized with such a prestigious Award. I am also very glad that our software has proven so useful to so many scientists around the world. However, I would be remiss if I, in turn, did not recognize at least of few of the many people who have worked with me over the years: Andrew Rusinko, Jeffrey Skell, and Renzo Balducci for their work on Concord and Confort, our conformational analysis package; Karl Smith for his work on both DiverseSolutions and EA-Inventor, our novel de novo design engine; Eugene Stewart and Hongyao Zhu for their work on LibraryMaker, our 2D/3D library enumeration software; Felix Deanda for his work on GSSI for modeling solution-phase properties; and Yubin Wu and Brian Masek for their work on our "Nature's Way" software for dealing with tautomerism and the resulting stereochemical consequences; and many others. This Award recognizes their efforts as well as my own."

Dr. Pearlman founded Optive Research, Inc. in July of 2003 to provide a more easily sustainable environment for CAMD software research and development. However, Optive Research was acquired by Tripos Inc. in January of 2005. Dr. Pearlman continues his research and teaching at the University of Texas at Austin.

Guenter Grethe, Chair, CINF Awards Committee