2009 Herman Skolnik Award Winner Announced


Yvonne Connolly Martin, retired Senior Volwiler Research Fellow at Abbott Laboratories, is the recipient of the 2009 Herman Skolnik Award presented by the ACS Division of Chemical Information (CINF). The award recognizes outstanding contributions to and achievements in the theory and practice of chemical information science and related disciplines. The prize consists of a $3,000 honorarium and a plaque.

Yvonne Martin has been at the forefront of cheminformatics throughout her professional career which was spent entirely at Abbott Laboratories. She has been a founder and constant driving force in the development and use of computational chemistry and its application to computer aided drug discovery. Her studies in QSAR, molecular diversity, molecular graphics, pharmacophore analysis, molecular similarity and combinatorial chemistry greatly impacted the work of theoretical and experimental medicinal chemists. Her overall contributions have helped shape the modern definition of drug discovery. While she developed many methods and supervised their implementation, she never limited herself to a single method or application to solve real-world problems. She finds great pleasure in sharing her work with any interested researchers.

Yvonne has authored or co-authored more then 60 peer-reviewed papers, about 40 book chapters, and more than 20 reviews. Additionally, she edited 6 books and 7 patents were issued in her name. These publications and her numerous presentations at national and international meetings provided important insights into computational drug discovery. She has served on many journal editorial boards and NIH study sections. For her many contributions to the field of molecular modeling, Yvonne has received several awards and honors including the Accomplishment Award from the Society for Biomolecular Sciences.

Yvonne Martin received a BA in Chemistry (1958) from Carleton College and a Ph.D. in Chemistry (1964) from Northwestern University. She started her career in 1958 as Research Assistant at Abbott Laboratories and moving through the ranks retired in 2006 as Senior Volwiler Research Fellow. In 1967 – 1968, she spent a sabbatical year at Pomona College with Professor Corwin Hansch which made her an early proponent of QSAR. Yvonne was one of the founders of the International QSAR Society (now called Cheminformatics and QSAR Society) in 1989 and served as its Chair in 2001 – 2005. Yvonne is highly respected by all of her colleagues worldwide and this Award is a well-deserved recognition of an outstanding research career.

Guenter Grethe, Chair, CINF Awards Committee