Lucille M. Wert Student Scholarship


To recruit persons into the profession of Chemical Information.


American Chemical Society, Division of Chemical Information


Designed to help persons with an interest in the fields of Chemistry and Information to pursue graduate study in Library, Information, or Computer Science.




  • A Bachelor's Degree with a major in Chemistry and related disciplines
  • Acceptance into graduate Library, Information, or Computer Science program in an accredited institution
  • Library, Information, or Computer experience preferred


In 1989, the Division established the annual Student Scholarship Award to recognize chemists pursuing graduate studies in information, library, or computer science, leading to a career in chemical information. The Award consists of a certificate and stipend. It is usually presented at an ACS Local Section meeting in the vicinity of the recipient's residence or school. The award was renamed in 1996 to honor the late Lucille M. Wert.

To apply, send the following items:

  • Letter of application giving the reasons you should be considered for the award to: Marge Matthews
  • Transcript of Undergraduate studies
  • Three letters of reference
  • Resume
  • GRE scores (optional)

Deadline for Applications: February 1st of the year in which the award is presented.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient More information

Steve Geier, University of Alberta. CANADA

2018 Joshua Borycz
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
Press release
2016 Allison Langham
University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
Press release  
2015 Siu Hong Yu
Western University
London, Ontario
Press release
2014 Ellen Strobel
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN
Press release
2013 Kristin Briney
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI
Press release
2012 Bin Chen
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
Press release
2011 Elsa Alvaro
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
Press release
2010 Yuening Zhang
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
Press release
2009 Kristin Whitman
Landon IP, Inc.
Press release
2008 Huijun Wang
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
Press release
2007 Andrea Wright
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC
Press release
2006 Olivia Bautista. Sparks
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Press release
2005 Jeffrey Loo
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
2004 Amanda K. Fair
Long Island University
Purchase, NY
2003 Victoria Wei. Zhang
McGill University
Montreal, Canada
Press release
2002 Hong Zhang
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
Press release
2001 Philip M. Edwards
State University of New York at Buffalo and University of Michigan
Press release
2000 Susanne Hantos
University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario, Canada
Press release
1999 Timothy Waugh
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
1998 Svetlana Korolev
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI
1997 Margaret M. Buck
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ
1996 Heather Frese
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee, WI
1995 Octavia Perryman
University of Texas
Austin, TX
1994 Whitney Baker
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS
1993 Linda Halliburton
State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
1992 Robyn Stewart
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC, Canada
1992 James J. Heinis
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
1991 Craig Jenkins
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
1991 Hankom Leann
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
1990 Eric A. Johnson
Syracuse University
Syracuse, NY
1989 Joan M. Evans
Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA



Software to publish a newspaper